Music · Reviews

My Monthly Playlist: July 2017

Hello everyone!

Welcome back to another monthly playlist! To be honest with you I don’t even know if it’s too late because it’s already like July 30 as I’m writing this……….

But if it’s about good music then it’s never too late! Am I right?


As usual let’s start with some album reviews:

  1. Divide by Ed Sheeran (release date: March 3 2017)

    I know this album’s already been released since like the beginning of the year but let me say couple of words about it cause I’m still not over it. We all know Ed Sheeran never disappoints people with his music. After taking a long break from the music industry – he came up with the mixed of his old style (that all of his fans and the rest of the world have been waiting for) and something fresh that made the this album really worth the wait.

    the playlist
    Divide is the kind of album where you don’t skip a single song and restart songs when you aren’t paying enough attention because they’re that good. Ed also brought all these different styles of music in this album like the rapping, the ballads, the fast paced fun pop songs, the soulful voice combined with deep beats, the irish folk/pop, Spanish and Ghanan musical styles and actual words from the languages. This album is such a journey.

     


    My favorites from this album that you should check out:
    Castle on The HillShape Of You, Perfect, Galway Girl, What Do I Know and Supermarket Flowers.

     

  2. Lust For Life by Lana Del Rey (release date: July 21 2017) 


    YES YES YES! I’ve been waiting for this album since the beginning of the year. If it’s not your first time listening to Lana, then you’ll probably know that her songs are very sad, vintage, gloomy type of songs. BUT TRUST ME! this one is happier! (Lana would totally disagree, lol.)

    But still though. For me at least, Lana has added these new optimistic vibes to her music. Some of her songs in this also sound very hopeful, the kind of music that we need the most, especially at times like this where the things that we see / hear on the news are just terrible. I guess it’s important to hear those type of music that will remind you that the world could be so bad but as long as you have that faith and the good in you – then whatever the bad thing out there won’t win ヾ(❀╹◡╹)ノ゙

     

    You can see the album trailer here. It really sums up the whole concept of this album.

    My current favorite songs: Love, Lust For Life, Cherry, Beautiful People Beautiful Problems and Change.

    Listen the full album on Spotify here.

Alright now for the songs that I listened to the most / have just discovered this month!

1

  • Demi Lovato – Sorry Not Sorry

THIS SONG!!! The type of song that makes you want to jump and dance. LIKE SERIOUSLY YOU WON’T BE JUST SITTING THERE WHILE LISTENING TO THIS SONG. SORRY NOT SORRY BUT THIS SONG DESERVES A GRAMMY.  I love the message in this song – like telling you better perspectives about things you’ve been going through and that you don’t have to blame it all on yourself.

You’ll feel so good after listening to this. We all need those sassy songs to make ourselves feel better, don’t we?

listen here.

 

  • HAIM – Want You Back

This song is like the opposite of Demi’s song lol. It’s like understanding that you can too – sometimes – make a mistake. There are some days where we have to push our pride away for the good things to come.

listen here.

 

  • Coldplay – Miracles (Someone Special)

Beautiful song. To sum it up: this song will make you believe that you can be the next Albert Einstein. Or even better. Like, Albert Einstein who?

listen here.

 

  • Rose-Colored Boy – Paramore

 

“we should look at the bright side”

 “well maybe if you wanna go blind”

 

I know if you’ve read the post where I made my own themed playlist inspired by this song, then you’d probably know understand how much I’m so attached and obsessed with this one. I’ve seen so many reviews about this song on Youtube and how wonderful it is that everyone has different perspectives to describe this song. But I read the one that I can’t stop thinking about:

“I am not sure if Paramore meant to do this, but this song, for me, speaks to the phenomenon that happens with people that suffer from depression/anxiety and are around people that do not. The song is saying, let me feel what I am feeling. Stop telling me to get better or be happy because it is not that easy. Stop down playing my mental illness because you do not suffer from it. Just let me cry a little big longer. Paramore you have done it again. Spoke to my soul.” – Cole Webster

listen here.

  • Woman – Kesha

THIS SONG IS THE DEFINITION OF BOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I really love Kesha’s new comeback. Her new sound is very interesting and her new songs are very different from one song to another. The lyrics from her new songs are deep too and knowing what she’s been through it’s all just too much. I’m so proud of Kesha for being strong despite of those bad things that happened to her. A source told that writing this album was like a theraphy to her. I really hope that this album will get so much recognition as much as she deserves.

 

I don’t need a man to be holding me too tight

 

SCREAM IT LOUDER FOR PEOPLE IN THE BACK!

listen here.

 

  • Heavy – Oh Wonder

One of my favorite indie artists ♡ ♡ ♡ their new album is very happy-ish and positive and I love it so much. I really love this song even though I don’t really understand the meaning cause I never googled the lyrics lol but the sound always puts me in a good mood and makes me happy. Like genuinely. Happy.

listen here.

 

  • Feels – Calvin Harris (ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry, Big Sean)

THIS SONG IS ONE OF THOSE SONGS THAT STUCK IN YOUR HEAD ALL WEEK LONG. I really love the Katy Perry’s part. It’s such a perfect summer bop. Well, I’m not even surprised cause it’s Calvin (King of Bops) who produced the song. Oh also the music video always makes my day every time I watch it. It’s so dorky. You might want to check it out.

listen here.

 

  • New Rules – Dua Lipa

I LOVE THIS SONG. PLEASE GIVE THIS SONG TO YOUR BEST FRIENDS WHO CAN’T GET OVER THEIR ANNOYING EXES. THANK YOU. WE REALLY NEED TO SHARE THIS GIRLPOWER TO EVERYONE.

listen here.

 

  • 6/10 by Dodie

A pretty song that I’ve stumbled upon few days ago. I love coincidence. I don’t know how to explain it but this song is pretty much the one that keeps me sane these days watching all these madness going on in the world.

listen here.

 

  • Supercut – Lorde

*TRY NOT TO LOOK LIKE SOMEONE WHO HAVE BEEN LISTENING TO MELODRAMA ALL MONTH AND ALREADY MEMORIZED ALL THE LYRICS TO EVERY SONG*

This song is just UNBELIEVABLE. I’ve been loving it even more. Not a day goes by without me listening to this song.

listen here.

—-> YOU CAN LISTEN TO THIS PLAYLIST ON SPOTIFY HERE

I hope you’ll love these songs as much as I do!

Also if you haven’t, you can check out my last month playlist here.

2

What do you think of these songs? And what is your most played song this month?

 

Don’t forget to follow my blog for more new playlists! I’m planning to do lots of books reviews and other things too and I can’t wait to see you on my next journey! (o^▽^o)

3 thoughts on “My Monthly Playlist: July 2017

  1. Sorry Not Sorry is absolutely phenomenal, same with the video clio 😉 AND you have Divide, Feels and New Rules on this list too, amazing picks! I actually did a post all about Feels and Calvin’s new album, and don’t even worry, I literally only posted my July Tunes on August 1st, so well done on getting this post up before me haha, great post xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

